

## South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

## **South Carolina Real Estate Commission**

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210
P.O. Box 11847 • Columbia • SC 29211-1847
Phone: 803-896-4400 • Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4427
llr.sc.gov/re

# Property Manager-In-Charge License Requirements and Application Process Overview

If you do not hold an active Property Manager license with South Carolina, you must first apply for a Property Manager license.

Before calling in to the Commission Office - You may check your application status online at: <a href="https://www.llr.sc.gov/re">https://www.llr.sc.gov/re</a>

#### **Licensure Requirements:**

A person is qualified to receive a Property Manager-in-Charge License when the following requirements are met:

- 1. Must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age or older.
- 2. You must meet the licensure requirements for Property Manager license.
- **3.** Completed seven (7) hours of Commission approved Property Manager-in-Charge accounting and record keeping courses.

# **Application Process:**

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

If you do not hold an active Property Manager license with South Carolina, you must first apply for a Property Manager license. If you hold an active Property Manager license or are submitting for an additional Property Manager-in-Charge license, the following will apply.

- 1. **Application** In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
  - <u>Application Fee</u>: Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, <u>may</u> be assessed on all returned funds.
    - \$250 Initial Property Manager-in-Charge license or current SC licensee with expiration date greater than one year from date of application
    - \$125 Current SC Property Manager or Property Manager-In-Charge licensee with expiration date within the year of application
  - Identification:
    - Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport
  - Legal documentation of name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
  - **Personal History Questions:** For any "Yes' answers in the Personal History Information, a written explanation must be provided. For explanation of criminal

history, completion and submission of the Explanation Form is required. Additional information may be requested by the Commission Office or an appearance before the Commission may be necessary.

- **PMIC Transfer:** If taking over as the PMIC for a currently registered company, attestation of transfer is required. The attestation must be signed by the existing PMIC or BIC or owner of the company.
- <u>PMIC Course Completion:</u> SC Code Ann. §40-57-510(C)(2)(b), applicants for Property Manager-in-Charge must complete seven (7) hours of property manager in charge courses in accounting and record keeping prior to issue of license.
- **2. Licensure**: Upon approval of application an updated license cared will be mailed to the company mailing address.